About Me

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Quick Thursday Updates

I reached my goal of saving $1000 for my parents yesterday! I have it all neatly placed in an envelope so I will have to make a trip out to where they camp to put the deposit on their seasonal dues for next year.

Work has been busy, which is great! I need to make money this summer!

I went to bingo the other day with my mom. It was so much fun but we didn't win anything.

We had dinner at D's family's house on Sunday. My cousin and her boyfriend joined us there. We went boating, ah I love summer!

D has a family reunion on Sunday, I have the day off work so it should be a good time. Will be nice to see that side of his family again. I have to either bring a dessert or a salad to the party, not sure which one to bring. His family gets pretty fancy with their desserts and I won't have a ton of time to make something up to their par.

We had an apartment fly infestation!! There were so many of them flying around. They would keep me up at night and they were just a nuisance in general. I put up some of those disgusting sticky tape things to catch them....did they ever work well! I should post the picture I took of one of them COVERED with flies! EWW!!!

I did day one of Jillian Michael's 30 day shred, it nearly KILLED me!!! I am way more out of shape than I thought! The days after the video were harder than the video itself! Might try to do another one today. My cousin said she is going to do it too starting on Monday.

I want a pet so badly. It doesn't make sense to have one in our apartment though. Instead I visit my parents a lot, but mostly just to play with their dog :)

Friday, August 3, 2012

July Spending

July absolutely flew by. I worked a ton which was great! I got a settlement for my car which went into savings. I celebrated my 27th birthday! D bought me new snorkelling gear for scuba diving and took me on a dive. We saw the fireworks, watched Spiderman, went on a date to a restaurant in town we've been wanting to go to forever. We went boating several times, and swimming. We went to Ribfest and my cousin and I made a bunch of treats for D's golf weekend with the boys.

July was an awesome month income-wise. I included the settlement as income, as well as tips, wages, and the paycheques I received from teaching.

Rent (19%) ACTUAL: 4%
Hydro (3%) 1%
Internet (3%) 1% 
Laundry (2%) <1 nbsp="nbsp" span="span">
Car and Gas (11%) ACTUAL: 2%
Phone (3%) ACTUAL: 1%
Food (8%) ACTUAL: 1%
Restaurant (3%) ACTUAL: 1%
Personal/Medical (4%) ACTUAL 2% Dentist appointment - no cavities!
Clothing (5%) ACTUAL: 0%
Gifts (5%) ACTUAL <1 br="br">Education (2%) ACTUAL 0%
Entertainment (3%) ACTUAL 1%
Everything Else (5%) ACTUAL: 1% Shoe rack, SD card, yoga mat, weights

TOTAL (73%) ACTUAL 17% I am sooo happy with this amount! Way under budget! Definitely helps when your income is much higher than usual.

TFSA (15%) ACTUAL: 27% Started new "Future TFSA" since I have maxed out the other one
Christmas (3%) ACTUAL: 3% Fully funded now!
Camera (3%) ACTUAL: 0%
RRSP (5%) ACTUAL: 8%
Travel Fund (3%) ACTUAL: 0%

TOTAL (28%) ACTUAL 38% I also managed to save $550 toward a gift to my parents. I have been saving all my $50 and $100 bills from work and it goes toward that fund so it's not a big shock to my bank account taking it all out at once. So if we included that, my savings would actually have been 46%!

I think August will be another great month. I plan on working as much as I can but also hope to have some fun with friends and D. Hope your July went well!