About Me

Monday, April 30, 2012

April Spending

April went by pretty fast! I spent 6 days marking literacy tests in Toronto. I had an awesome time there, met some great people! I spent Easter with D's grandparents. I went to my roommate's engagement party and met her friends, all were really cool! I quit my job at the sushi restaurant, and was rehired at the restaurant I worked at last summer. 

Rent (19%) ACTUAL: 18%
Hydro (3%) 10% yikes!
Internet (3%) 4% 
Laundry (2%) 2% 
Car and Gas (11%) ACTUAL: 24% Ughh so much driving this month!! Then I also got an oil change and had to get my car looked at because the engine light turned on
Phone (3%) ACTUAL: 7%
Food (8%) ACTUAL: 8%
Restaurant (3%) ACTUAL: 12% This is mostly due to having to buy meals while in Toronto
Personal/Medical (4%) ACTUAL 6%
Clothing (5%) ACTUAL: 1% A striped shirt
Gifts (5%) ACTUAL 0%
Education (2%) ACTUAL 1% Applied to another school board
Entertainment (3%) ACTUAL 3%
Everything Else (5%) ACTUAL: 7% Bought some paints, a fruit bowl, cards to make a game

TOTAL (73%) ACTUAL 102% Wow this month was brutal!! Gas and restaurant really put me over. I make quite a bit less than I typically do as well. Easter and those days working in Toronto (I am not paid for them until May).

TFSA (15%) ACTUAL: 0%
Christmas (3%) ACTUAL: 0%
Camera (3%) ACTUAL: 0%
RRSP (5%) ACTUAL: 0%
Travel Fund (3%) ACTUAL: 0%

TOTAL (28%) ACTUAL 0% I don't think there has ever been a month in the past couple of years where I have not saved ANY money!!

May cannot be worse than April. I hope to get a lot more teaching in and start the new restaurant job. I will be getting paid for my days in Toronto as well so I definitely expect to get a lot more savings accomplished next month!! 

Friday, April 27, 2012

Thoughts of Going Overseas

I have been getting really frustrated with my current school board. I LOVE my job but I am not getting enough work and it doesn't look like there will be any permanent positions opening up for a LOOONG time.

I knew the job prospects when I was entering into teacher's college, I went for it anyway because teaching is what I want to do. However it will be 4 years since I graduated in June and I am tired of daily supply.

D and I have been talking occasionally about going overseas to work. He was totally on board over a year ago when I was still very hesitant. But now, I see it as an opportunity to teach and travel.

With my school board we have to work at least 15 full days per school year in order to keep our position on the supply list. So ideally I would prefer to leave in January in order to get those days in for the 2012-2013 school year.

Where have we been looking? D's first choice was Thailand. However D does not have a university degree and that would make getting a work visa extremely hard for him. It's a little sketchy to go on a tourist visa and work under the table. Also the pay is fairly poor in Thailand although living expenses are very inexpensive. I think I would rather go there for travel.

My first choice would be Holland. I was supposed to go there a couple of years ago with my ex and it didn't happen. I've always wanted to go there though. Some of my best friends are Dutch and I know Canadians are very welcomed there. I've applied to a bunch of international schools there but haven't heard anything promising back from them yet.

I posted my resume on a ESL job board and have received 3 job offers already, in less than a week, Taiwan and China. I think I would prefer a European country at this point though. I know you can make the most money in South Korea but I am looking for something different.

As of right now I am really thinking about Czech Republic. I wish flights weren't so expensive because I would love to check out some countries before making a decision! It would be nice to be able to apply in person. Anyway that is what we've been discussing lately. No guarantees it will actually happen though. Both sets of parents don't seem overly thrilled, and would rather us stay in Canada.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

An Award

Maureen nominated me for an award! It's called the Leibster award and it's given to bloggers that have less than 200 followers who have a story/advice to share. 

Now I am supposed to nominate 5 more bloggers and give you 5 facts that you may or may not know about myself.

Here we go...

1. I was a closet country fan all throughout high school and first year university. Now I am out of the closet, I love listening to the music and don't care who knows.

2. When I was about 10 my grandma said that she thought I would be a teacher when I grew up. She thought my brother would be prime minister. He tests beer for a living!

3. My favourite activities when I was a kid at home were building forts, playing with ninja turtles and watching Captain Planet.

4. I cannot stand carrots or mushrooms. I'm not a picky eater otherwise.

5. My boyfriend and I have the same last name. Spelled differently, pronounced the same! I was always bugged about marrying him in elementary school for that reason.

This is who I now nominate:

Two Degrees of Unemployment



Shaking the Money Tree 

Making Sense of Sense

Monday, April 16, 2012

Fast Updates

I enjoyed my time in Toronto immensely! I met some great people at the job I was working at. Went out on the town (city) with some teachers. The work itself was fairly boring but had it's interesting highlights as well. I met up with my cousin and roommate from school as well.

Easter was fabulous as well! I drove back home and then D and I went to his grandparent's house together. We saw a Marlies game on Saturday where they WON in OVERTIME. It was exciting! We hung out with his family and ate amazing food. They STILL do an Easter egg hunt on the Sunday which is so much fun. Elbows out!

I will not be paid for my Toronto work until mid-May so this month's paycheques will be small. I am not sure how much savings I will get to.

I finally finished reading Oryx and Crake. It had an ending that made me want to read the next one. I may do that once I finish a few more books on my list. I am currently reading The Shack. D's aunt let me borrow it.

My ASL course has been cancelled :( They needed 8 people to sign up in order for it to run and only 5 actually signed up. The downside of living in a small town!

D and I had a lazy weekend. I worked Saturday night. Spent part of Friday night hanging out with my parents and their dog. The rest of the time was watching movies, reading books. I am also making a card game that I got into last week. It's called SET, has anyone played it? I couldn't find it in the stores and it's easy enough to make on my own. Almost done!

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Boys are SOMETIMES cute

I am writing you from the big city of Toronto! I am staying at a hotel here until NEXT WEDNESDAY and doing some teaching related work. A little working vacation. So far so good too. I've met a number of really cool people.

Yesterday I was off. I cleaned the apartment, made dinner and did the dishes (D's job). He came home and we talked about stuff ate dinner with candles and he helped me take my stuff to the car. As I am walking down the steps I notice there are flowers on my passenger side. I turn to him and say "he was here again." That man has left me flowers on my passenger seat TWICE before. We get closer and there is a note saying "I'll miss you" and I look at D and he has a big smile on his face. They were from him!! So sweet!

I may have hit him for scaring me but I was totally surprised. It was so nice of him and now they are sitting in my hotel room in a coffee thermos! I need to get some taller vases ;)

Monday, April 2, 2012

March Spending

March went by pretty quick! It was my 3 paycheque month but I was only paid twice due to lack of teaching and March Break :( It was D's birthday which ended up being really expensive! We went to a Leaf game, I bought him tickets to see the Marlies for April. We went out for dinner. We went to see the Hunger Games!! Hung out with friends, had a bunch of people over for St. Patrick's Day. I did a girls shopping weekend with D's mom and sister and I filed a police report on a scary man. 

Rent (19%) ACTUAL: 0% This is because I paid for D's Jeep to be fixed. 
Hydro (3%) 6%
Internet (3%) 4% 
Laundry (2%) <1% My parents went to Florida for 2 weeks so we did laundry at their house!
Car and Gas (11%) ACTUAL: 5%
Phone (3%) ACTUAL: 3%
Food (8%) ACTUAL: 7%
Restaurant (3%) ACTUAL: 6% This is mostly because of the Toronto trip and D's birthday
Personal/Medical (4%) ACTUAL <1% Body wash and that's it!
Clothing (5%) ACTUAL: 4% A pair of shoes, a skirt, and some shirts. Not bad for a shopping trip
Gifts (5%) ACTUAL 1%
Education (2%) ACTUAL 6% Signed up for another ASL course!
Entertainment (3%) ACTUAL 1%
Everything Else (5%) ACTUAL: 17% Ugh so high!! But this is mostly paying taxes! Bought a tax program online and a printer too.

TOTAL (73%) ACTUAL 61% Surprisingly underbudget! Imagine I didn't have to pay those pesky taxes!!

TFSA (15%) ACTUAL: 17%
Christmas (3%) ACTUAL: 0%
Camera (3%) ACTUAL: 0%
RRSP (5%) ACTUAL: 17%
Travel Fund (3%) ACTUAL: 0%

TOTAL (28%) ACTUAL 33% Not too bad! 

I am happy with how March turned out. I ended up being able to save a decent amount and didn't spend too much even with a shopping trip in there! I am hoping April will be just as good. Hopefully some more TFSA and RSP savings! Nothing too exciting is happening in April so spending should be normal.